Snow and cycling

by

We have now had a few inches of snow.  This reminds me of the years I commuted pretty much year around (now I don’t travel to work).  After taking a spill in an intersection one slippery day,  I bought a pair of studded tires.  They worked well on packed snow and ice but weren’t much better than knobby tires on loose snow.  One day I went down the hill near Dr. Knox school, passing all motor vehicles going the same direction.  It was glare ice and the studs gave me as much traction as I would have had on a bare surface.

The studs did however “reduce my fitness” by about 30%.  Put them on and you get a graphic example of why very light wheels are worthwhile buying.

Ride safely,

John.

Leave a Reply

